Grants Allocation Committee (Primary)


Voting members (9)


Directors of Catholic Education (or their nominee) in the Archdiocese of Melbourne and the dioceses of Ballarat, Sandhurst and Sale (4 in total)

Mr Stephen Elder (Chairperson)
Mr Paul Desmond
Ms Audrey Brown
Ms Maria Kirkwood

One nominated representative appointed by each of the Directors of Catholic Education in the dioceses of Ballarat, Sandhurst and Sale (3 in total)

Ms Julie Duynhoven
Mr Ben Higgins
Mr Paul Velten

Two nominated representatives of the Catholic Education Melbourne or Archdiocese of Melbourne

Mr David Wilkes
Mrs Jane Callaghan

Non voting members (1)


Manager, Finance Accounting & Compliance, Catholic Education Melbourne

Ms Helen Zeeuwe

Terms of Reference

  1. Establishment
    The CECV Grants Allocation Committee (Primary) (the committee) was established by the Catholic Education Commission of Victoria (CECV) in 1977. The committee reports to the CECV Board.
  2. Functions and responsibilities
    The Committee was established as the CECV’s approved authority for the receipt and distribution of recurrent grants to systemically funded Catholic primary schools in Victoria. It is responsible for:
  • advising the CECV on the distribution of Australian and State government grants to member schools in a way that is consistent with any relevant CECV policies and is in accordance with the requirements of Australian and State governments
  • ensuring all CECV policies and procedures relating to the distribution of recurrent grants to primary schools are regularly reviewed and amended, if required and with the approval of the CECV, to best achieve its objectives
  • ensuring that the CECV meets its accountability obligations to government and other stakeholders on a timely basis with regard to the recurrent funding of primary schools
  • calculating ‘diocesan share percentage’ which is used to allocate total Victorian recurrent primary school funding, after deduction of primary school ‘central costs’, across the four Victorian dioceses. The diocesan share percentage is based on an approximation of each diocese’s share of total Victorian primary school need calculated using the needs-based formula as outlined by the diocesan share methodology
  • conducting an annual risk assessment of the committee's processes and objectives and reporting the assessment outcomes to the CECV Board
  • ongoing monitoring of the committee's risks and reporting the status of proposed risk treatments to the CECV Audit and Risk Committee regularly in accordance with the CECV Risk Management Policy
  • administering all Federal and State funding of Victorian Catholic systemic and non-systemic special and special assistance schools
  • receiving funding request submissions from Grants Allocation Committee –Targeted Areas – GAC(TA), for consideration, discussion and approval. If approved by GAC(P) then forwarding to CECV Board for endorsement.