Child Safety Working Party


Voting members (10)


Manager, Wellbeing Unit, Catholic Education Melbourne

Mr Dennis Torpy (Chairperson)

Representatives from the Archdiocese of Melbourne and the dioceses of Ballarat, Sandhurst and Sale (8)

Ms Lina Di Paolo
Mr Lee Schlooz
Ms Susan Renn
Mr Oronzo Farina
Ms Lauren Bourke
Mr Kevin Lawlor
Ms Frances Brown 

Senior Project Lead, Child Safety, Wellbeing Unit, Catholic Education Melbourne

Ms Elina Raso


Terms of Reference

  1. Functions and responsibilities
    The Working Party will:
  • Foster state wide communication and collaboration in matters related to child safety reform incorporating the child-safe standards.
  • Enable a consistent and best practice approach to child-safety reform across Catholic schools in Victoria by:
    • Developing a shared understanding of the principles that underpin child safe environments and effective organisational cultures
    • Developing a Victorian Intent and Commitment Statement on Child Safety in Victorian Catholic schools
    • Building on current policies, procedures and practices across the four dioceses to meet the child safe standards (CSS) and other relevant obligations
    • Enhancing ‘child safety’ teaching and learning approaches/tools for use across all schools; and
    • Strengthening risk management strategies.
  • Determine the support required by school leaders across Victoria to effectively implement the child safe reforms and identify the strategies and approaches to build leader and teacher capacity to create child safe organisations.
  • Promote awareness of and engagement by Catholic schools to fulfil their obligations associated with the minimum child-safe standards.
  • Report on the implementation of the Child Safety Standards to the CECV Board and the CECV Review Body Committee on a regular basis.